A very sad day…

In light of the horrific events in Newtown, Conn., I’d like to take a brief moment to simply offer up my sorrow, my sympathy and my inadequate condolences to the families, friends, teachers and parents of those who died in today’s school shooting.

Events like this are beyond comprehension, and they demand a response. I hope that the American people respond the way they need to, but I’m not going to talk about that in this post.

I’m not going to talk about the implications of this tragedy on gun control in the United States – though that discussion must be had. I’m not going to talk about the twisted ethical standards of the media when they exploited children and identified the wrong person as the shooter – though those issues must be addressed. I’m not going to comment on access to mental health services in the United States – though changes must obviously be made.

No, tonight all I want to say is that I am utterly and deeply sorry to every single person affected by the events of today. My words will have little to no effect; and no matter how much I would like to, nothing will ever bring those children back to their moms, dads, brothers, sisters, grandparents, aunts, uncles or friends. But I just want to say that I grieve for you, though you may never feel it.

Leave a comment

Filed under Personal

Leave a Reply

